Skip to main content
site header image

EDU Graduate Student Resources: WISE

Library resources for students in Westminster's Master in Education Graduate Programs

WISE Search

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

What you can find in WISE

WISE is the old library catalog, but better. Use it to find:

  • Books
  • Journals
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Articles*
  • Videos (DVD, VHS, etc.)
  • Miscellaneous (websites, etc.)

* Not all articles will be retrieved by searching WISE. Please see the box below for more information.

What you CAN'T find in WISE

WISE includes article-level access to many of our titles...but not all of them. In particular, the following types of resources are not discoverable via WISE:

  • Magazines:  some databases provide article-level results for magazine titles.
  • Newspapers:  very few article-level results are available.
  • E-Reference:  article-level results are not available.

What is WISE?

Think of WISE as Google for Grad School. It's the single search box located on the library's home page (and in the left-hand column on this page) that gets you into Westminster's academic resources. It's the go-to-place for Education grad students who are:

  • Exploring the education literature: Search for a topic in WISE to find books and ebooks, plus full-text, article-level links to many of our journal subscriptions.  
  • Interdisciplinary research:  since WISE contains materials from all disciplines taught on campus, using it is more efficient than searching numerous subject-specific databases.
  • Journal Subscription Information:  If you find only a citation and/or abstract through one of our other education resources, you can search for that article in WISE to determine whether the library has full-text access to that article in another database (or through a journal subscription). If we do not have any full-text access, you can request the item via Interlibrary Loan directly from WISE.  See the Online Journals & Resources and Interlibrary Loan tabs above for more information.

Resources from Westminster and Beyond

WISE contains title-level records for all of the resources that the Westminster College library owns or otherwise has access to.  In addition, it has records from thousands of libraries worldwide via a network called WorldCat. As you are looking for resources, keep the following in mind:

  • If Westminster College owns or has access to an item, the words "Westminster College McGill Libraries" will appear. If we do not own it, the words "WorldCat Libraries" will display.
  • By default, items that Westminster College owns (or has access to) appear first in the search results.
  • Changing the sorting method to relevance only, will return the best match to your search without consideration of who owns them.
  • If you need print resources and/or DVDs from the library's collection, email mcgillill@westminster.edu with the full citation information and/or links to the WISE page. 
  • If you need a resource that Westminster doesn't own, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan service. See the Interlibrary Loan tab above for more information.

Your Personal Library Account

Anyone can search WISE, but as a student you have an account that you can use to manage your library transactions and to take advantage of other WISE search features.  In order to gain access to your account, please take the following steps:

  • Go to the WISE search page. Alternatively, go to the library home page and conduct a search in the WISE search box.
  • Click "Sign In" located at the top right corner of the window.
  • Click "Set/Reset Password" located below the user name and password prompt lines.
  • Enter your Westminster College user name (your e-mail prefix), and click "Request new password".
  • You will receive an e-mail with instructions for creating or resetting your password.  Click on the link in that e-mail to complete the process.

Using your library account:

  • Click "Sign In" located at the top right corner of the window in WISE (see instructions above for more detail).
  • Once you are logged in, click "Ask a Librarian" located at the top right corner of the window.
  • From here, you will be able to see your checkouts, holds, and charges.  You can also renew checked out books from this screen.

Troubleshooting

WISE is constantly undergoing upgrades, and improving over time. But it isn't perfect. Some of the problems you may encounter are listed below. Please contact the library to report other problems.

  • "There is a link to a full-text article, but when I click on it, the next page says that the article cannot be found (or another error message)."
    • This typically occurs when an item has not been indexed correctly in WISE.  Newspaper and magazine articles are especially problematic in this case.
    • Solution:  go directly to the database source listed under the link to the article (eg: JSTOR, ScienceDirect, etc.).  If the database source is unclear, please contact the library.
  • "The item result says that we own it, but there is no link to get to the online version (article, journal, etc.)"
    • Please contact the library should this occur.  It may be due to:
      • WISE has incorrectly listed the item as owned/accessible by Westminster College.
      • The link is "hidden" but the item is owned/accessible by Westminster College.
  • "I clicked on a link to an article, but was taken to a strange page that says 'EBSCO' and the article isn't there."
    • You have been diverted to the title-level page instead of to the article you found.
    • Solution:  on the EBSCO page, you should see "Your Access" followed by a green check mark and a date range.  Below this is "Available on Publisher's Site" with a linked date range.  Click on this to navigate to the desired article.  If this information is not present on the EBSCO page, or you cannot locate the article on the publisher's site, please contact the library.

From EBSCO Electronic Journals Service:

WISE Librarian