Skip to main content
site header image

ECE Block : Annotated Bibliography

Your Assignment

Annotated Bibliography of PreK Mathematics Instruction (5%)

The purpose of this assignment is to introduce you to PreK mathematics research and classroom practices that address the mathematical concepts covered in this course. In this assignment you will read 5 articles about PreK mathematics instruction and write an annotated bibliography describing the content of each article. The annotated bibliography will consist of five entries based on three instructor provided articles from a NAEYC publication and two individually found journal article from NCTM’s Teaching Children Mathematics. or NAEYC's Young Children Your annotated bibliography should be written in APA style, and make sure that each paragraph entry is fact based and does not include your opinion.

Using "Teaching Children Mathematics"

Teaching Children Mathematics (TCM) is an official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and is intended as a resource for elementary school students, teachers, and teacher educators. 
This journal, published by the National Association for the Education of Younge Children contains interdisciplinary articles to help with your research-based lesson planning.

What's an annotated bibliography?


It might sound scary

If you've never done it before, but an annotated bibliography is real easy. You've probably put together bibliographies in the past, and an annotated bibliography isn't that much different and it can be really helpful with the research process.


An entry in an annotated bibliography looks like this:

Citation (remember, proper formatting is important!)

Brief paragraph summarizing the source and how it relates to/will be helpful with your research.


And that's it. You can easily use Endnote to create a bibliography and then just add your own citations below each entry.