This is the "Where to Search" page of the "PS301: Research Design & Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PS301: Research Design & Analysis  

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.westminster.edu/content.php?pid=707718 Print Guide RSS Updates

Where to Search Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search WISE - find print books, ebooks and more!

WorldCat Discovery search box example

 

Top Political Science Databases

 

Other Good Sources

Here are some other databases that can help your research in a variety of ways:

Other good sources of journal articles:

  • Academic Search Complete:  the library's largest single database; contains all disciplines including political science
  • JSTOR:  multidisciplinary (including political science and related fields) that contains a lot of older content not available in other databases
  • Web of Science: despite the name, this database also searches the top political science journals - and has a unique tool that lets you see who has cited a particular article, not just the bibliography of that article

News sources:

  • NY Times archive:  search for news stories going all the way back to 1852.
  • National Newspapers Core:  search several major papers (LA Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, etc.) from the 1980s to present

Other good information sources:

  • SAGE Knowledge: contains many social science encyclopedias, good, authoritative source for looking up basic facts and data
  • Historical Statistics of the United States:  data on a wide range of topics relevant to political science research areas
  • Europa World:  contains basic data and brief summaries for countries and regions of the world
  • ICPSR:  many datasets are available for download and use; you may find a relevant set for your research which you can analyze yourself! (NOTE: you must create a free account for yourself to download data; please see a librarian if you need help)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
John Garrison
Contact Info
724-946-7329
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip