Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Westminster College Logo

BIO 201 (General): Finding Background Research

Tools, resources, and tips for research projects in BIO 201

Online Databases

 

Huge, free, online databases created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of health.
Includes 26 million citations for primary and secondary biomedical research literature. 
Need help using PubMed?  Check out this really helpful quick start guide

Includes more than 190 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Includes both primary and secondary research articles.

 

 

Image result for scopus

The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

 

Image result for science direct

Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content in areas such as scientific, technical, and medical research.

Finding Full Text

For some of the citations you find using the online databases, there will not be a link directily to the full text.  However, there is a way to get what you need!  Without spending money!  

Step 1: Check WISE.  Search for the titles of your article/book in the WISE search.  It may be available in another of McGill's databases.

Step 2: Interlibrary Loan!