Skip to main content
site header image

Library DIY: For Faculty Members: Information about WISE & Online Resources

WISE search box

Please downloading the Word file below for more information on:

* Sorting and limiting search results in WISE

* How to use tools such as citation export

* Troubleshooting

Link Resolver

Need the awesome search capabilities of an advanced database like Scopus, but want to have quick, full-text access to all of the library's online resources too?  This feature, available in most of the library's databases, gives you the best of both worlds!  Look for the "Check for Full Text" link - and read the document below for more information.

Feedback? Missing something?

For individual research support or timely help with an issue, please email us at askmcgill@westminster.edu

For more general feedback please fill out this form. Your insight is valued as we try to meet your research needs!

 

WISE vs. "Online Resources"

The Westminster College library page has two primary locations from which you can search and browse our print and electronic collections: the WISE search box, and the Online Resources pop-up page.  Here are some of the main distinctions between the two:

 

  • WISE search box
    • What is it?
      • WISE is similar to a traditional library catalog.  It is the ONLY place to go to search the library's physical holdings (print books, serials, DVDs, etc.).
      • You'll also find results for many online resources, with links.  For example, ebook titles, journals, and articles.
      • Finally, you can find search results for items that our library does NOT own or subscribe to.  If we don't have it, you will find a link allowing you to request it via Interlibrary Loan (see the ILL tab for more information).
    • When should you use it?
      • You want to search the library's physical (e.g., print books) holdings.
      • You want to access (or find out if we have access to) a specific journal or article.
      • You want a broad starting point with most format types and disciplines.

 

  • Online Resources pop-up page
    • What is it?
      • Online Resources lists ALL of the library's databases, and a few key individual e-resources (such as the ebook DSM-5).
      • This list can be filtered by discipline or other type (general, news, reference, etc.).
    • When should you use it?
      • You know exactly which database you want to use.
      • You want online reference tools, news sources, or primary sources.
      • You want to conduct advanced, in-depth and/or thorough research on a topic.*

* Individual databases (such as Scopus, Historical Abstracts, and SciFinder) allow for more precise searching than WISE, at the cost of a certain limited range of results (scope of discipline, format type, etc.).