Skip to main content
site header image

EDU 940: Research: The Annotated Bibliography

APA (?) Citation Style

 

Scholarly Article

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article.Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. 

 

Book

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Location: Publisher.

 

Website (Best to stick to the .edus and the .govs)

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of document. Retrieved from http://Web address

Getting Started With Endnote

Endnote Web is an online tool that helps you:

  • Track papers you've read and group them by topic or assignment
  • Share citations with others
  • Create bibliograpies and easily cite in Microsoft Word

Click the image above, or use this link to visit Endnote Web and sign up for a free account

Check out our videos, or talk to a librarian to learn more!

Using the research matrix

The research matrix will help you connect and analyze your sources as you connect them into your literature review.

Keep an eye our for themes, questions, and subtopics that relate to your research, even while forming your question. The more thought you put in to your work early on, the easier it will be to write the paper later on.

Annotated!?

An annotated bibliography is a way to plan for your paper, share your research with others, and prove that you actually read the references. Writing an annotated bibliography in APA style is easy- you just write two short paragraphs below each reference. The first paragraph will be a brief summary, the second paragraph will be an assessment of the work.

 


It might sound scary

If you've never done it before, but an annotated bibliography is real easy. You've probably put together bibliographies in the past, and an annotated bibliography isn't that much different and it can be really helpful with the paper-writing process.


An entry in an annotated bibliography looks like this:

Citation (remember, proper formatting is important!)

Brief paragraphs. One summarizes the source. The second assesses the source and talks about how it relates to/will be helpful with your research.


And that's it. You can easily use Endnote to create a bibliography and then just add your own annotation below each entry.