Skip to main content
site header image

SOC 200: Studies in Sociology: Annotated Bibliography

Annotated!?

An annotated bibliography is a way to plan for your paper, share your research with others, and prove that you actually read the references. 

It might sound scary

If you've never done it before, but an annotated bibliography is really easy. You've probably put together bibliographies in the past, and an annotated bibliography isn't that much different and it can be really helpful with the paper-writing process. An entry in an annotated bibliography looks like this:

1. Citation (remember, proper formatting is important!)

2. 2 brief paragraphs.

  • Paragraph One: summarizes the source.
  • Paragraph Two: assesses the source and talks about how it relates to/will be helpful with your research.


And that's it! You can easily use Endnote or another citation tool to create a bibliography and then just add your own annotation below each entry.

Annotated Example

 

I can't help myself.

Image result for bibliography funny

CRAAP

(To be sung to any tune you’d like)

C is for currency, what’s the date?

R is for relevance, how does it rate?

A is for authority, what’s the author up to?

Another A for accuracy, is it all true?

One more thing, before you’re through-

P for purpose, is this meant to negate?

The CRAAP test is a general evaluation tool that can be applied to almost any source you find at college and in your life. To learn more about the CRAAP test and the specific list of questions it provides for evaluating sources, please see this guide from the California State University, Chico.