PS 322: Legal Resources: Home

Full text of Supreme court opinions, 1991-Current

Supreme Court opinions as published in the United States Reports, 1991-Current

(pronounced OH-yay). Freely available multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.

The LII provides access to all opinions of the United States Supreme Court since 1992, over 600 earlier decisions selected for historic importance, over a decade of opinions of the New York Court of Appeals, the full U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Rules. Also includes a legal dictionary/encyclopedia that contains a series of “topical” pages.

This link will take you to a full text search of Supreme Court Briefs from 1985-Present.

You can also find briefs here, but only from 2017-current.

Electronic versions of most filings submitted after November 13, 2017, are available through the docket for the particular case.  You will need to know the docket number, case name, or at least some words included in the case name in order to search the docket (there is no browsing option).

You can also find amicus briefs through the Supreme Court Briefs search. Just use the drop-down menu to select (must choose either invited or uninvited option).

Includes opinions from the U.S. Court of Appeals, U.S. Federal District Courts, State Courts, and some International Courts.

This site provides access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. Content dates to April 2004, though electronic holdings may be incomplete, and some courts may have holdings dating farther back. Once an opinion is located, all associated opinions within the same case can be accessed from the opinion Content Details page.

Includes opinions, precedential orders, dispositive orders in writs petitions, Rule 36 judgments, non-ministerial orders relating to rehearing or en banc petitions or actions, dispositive orders constituting either judgment or mandate, and any errata notice or revised version for any of the preceding document types. Opinions and select orders from October 1, 2004, to the present are available.

The OWL rocks.

Includes abbreviation list