Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Westminster College Logo

SCSM 601: Capstone

WISE - Books, Articles, and more

WISE Search box

What is WISE and how can I use it?

WISE is the Library's search engine, it searches:

  • Everything we have in the building
  • Everything we pay to have access to online
  • A lot of stuff we don't have, but can get for you through a service called Inter-Library Loan (ILL)

 

WISE is a user-friendly, all-in-one search tool, but is important to know when to use WISE, and when you may be better served by using the Library's other electronic resources. 

  • Print books and eBooks: WISE is the only place you can search our print book collection.  WISE is also the most convenient place to search our eBook collection.
  • Known items: If you know the exact book, journal, article, DVD, or other item you want, WISE will quickly show you if Westminster College owns or has access to that item.  If that item is not available through Westminster College, WISE provides an easy way to place an ILL request.
  • First-year or intro-level studies: WISE is the most user-friendly, all-in-one search option available and provides an adequate amount of relevant, appropriate sources for basic research needs.
  • Interdisciplinary research: WISE contains materials from all subjects taught on campus. Use WISE when you want Interdisciplinary (from many subjects) resources..

Use the Online Journals and Reference Sources page for:

  • Discipline-specific research: Searching specific databases (e.g., PsycINFO, SciFinder, ScienceDirect, MLA International Bibliography) is a better search strategy for more in-depth, advanced research.These databases allow for tailored search strings and provide citation tools.
  • Other types of electronic sources:
    • Newspapers:  U.S. Major Dailies, NY Times, Nexis Uni
    • Reference: Credo, Oxford, SAGE
    • Discipline-based: Birds of the World, Mergent Online
    • Streaming: Video (Kanopy, Swank) and music (NAXOS)
    • Primary Sources
    • and more!

Recommended Databases

Academic Journals

News Resources

The Library can get you a copy through ILL!

What is ILL?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service where libraries borrow and lend books, microfilm, DVDs,  journals, magazines, and newspaper articles to other libraries.  Librarians want everyone to be able to access information, so they work together to get the information to the people who need it!  

If you need something that isn't owned by McGill Library, we may be able to borrow it from another library. 

If you have questions about Interlibrary Loan, or have any trouble using the request form or setting up your ILLiad account, please contact John Garrison

Please note that ILL service is not available when the library is closed for Winter Break.  

How do I request an item through ILL?

The library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service is integrated into WISE, providing a convenient process for borrowing items that Westminster College does not own or have direct access to.  It is recommended that you create an ILL account before you begin your search, but not required. 

To use ILL in WISE:

  • When you find an item that says Held by other libraries worldwide (instead of Held by Westminster College McGill Library), click on the title link for the item.
  • Under Check Availability, click on the navy blue button: I Need This! (ILL)
  • You will be taken to a new page and prompted to log in with your ILL user name and password (you can create your account at this stage if you have not already done so).
  • Once you have logged in, you will be taken to an ILL form, where all of the item information should auto-populate for you. Enter the borrowing purpose at the bottom of the form and submit.