AI Resources and Tools

10.28.2024. A quick peek behind the curtain at some research done on the intersection of the humanities and AI tools. "It’s important in exploring what role the humanities may have in the future of AI development" (Pohl).

Added 10.28.2024. A quick and interesting read on the "mental models" of GenZ students and how that impacts their interactions with and trust in GenAI tools. Emphasizes the need for librarians to teach the "act of search" rather than letting students continue to accept the first answer they find that agrees with them as truth.

Added 10.9.2024. This article, which interviews Terence Tao, is an interesting look into how AI tools are being used in mathematics, and where some see that headed with an emphasis on what humans are good at that will remain necessary. But none of that is possible without having strong subject matter expertise first.

Added10.9.2024. This study of student perceptions of AI highlights the ability of technology to both empower and marginalize students in an educational setting.

10.4.2024. This article takes a closer look at the recently updated NotebookLM from Google. This AI tool gives users control over the data that is used to train the model by uploading text, audio, or video. For students, this means uploading class documents and notes and having a quick, searchable base to get answers, and now, a podcast.

10.4.2024. OpenAI released a new interface for folks interacting with ChatGPT to work "with" as they write and code. This interface allows for more control - almost like working in a Google Doc. Beta version available.

Added 9.27.2024. This article presents a compelling argument for the disclosure, by all parties, of AI usage in higher education. By normalizing AI disclosure, the author argues that we can move beyond AI misuse and look for evidence of learning (or not) with the tech.

9.27.2024. Researchers are using math and the Lean programming language to create an AI model that can verify the accuracy of it's answer (but only in math...for now).

9.13.2024. OpenAI has released the latest model - ChatGPT o1 - and it *might* have some interesting repercussions in education as the first "reasoning" model. Benjamin Riley dives into how this looks.

Added 9.11.2024. An example of a teacher who is banning AI usage in her English courses this year - and what her plan is instead.

8.29.2024. A helpful look at some of the various ways that other colleges, universities, and professors are dealing with AI this fall. A nice reminder that we aren't alone, with some additional ideas on ways that folks are using AI to help provide a different viewpoint for their students to learn and contemplate how NOT to use AI blindly.

8.26.2024. Good news for all you creative writers out there! GPT-4 was consistently outperformed by a human in this study, especially when creating in Spanish.

8.22.2024. "A professor at Florida International University tasked her students with devising an ethical guide to using AI in their classes—and found them to be stricter than she would have been."

This collection of AI resources includes materials and activities you can use in class, upcoming events on the topic of AI, and strategies for applying AI. Created by the University of Maine.

Part of a workbook released by McMaster University, this chapter provides short-term strategies for tweaking existing assignments and long-term strategies for redesigning assignments.

This document contains suggestions and examples of assessments that emphasize and teach the ethical use of AI.

From the article: "Claude 3.5 Sonnet's artifacts feature is a game-changer for educators, enabling the creation of GenAI-generated content into lesson plans and classroom activities."

6.12.2024. Focusing in on the freely available AI Tutor Pro, this article illustrates the possibilities that AI tutors present to bridge the gap between group learning and individual tutoring.

7.17.2024. This article provides a viewpoint on how higher education might embrace AI in order to make it a "catalyst rather than a replacement for deep learning."

This opinion piece calls for a re-assessment of assessment in the wake of GenAI.

This article provides an interesting glimpse into how some religious institutions are leaning into using AI as a tool to support critical thinking.

Touro University is forging ahead with the nation’s first associate provost for artificial intelligence.

OpenAI has launched 4o-mini, replacing ChatGPT-3.5.

This report reviews guides on the integration of AI in education that have been issued by states, international organizations, and foreign governments, highlighting strengths and limitations of the guidelines.

A toolkit designed to help provide starting points for responsibly shaping AI instruction and policies.

The University of Sydney created this "quick guide" to help educators assess their assessments in the wake of AI integration.

Compilation of recent developments in the AI world (as of April 2024) with some links to additional resources.

AI 101 for Teachers is a free, online series presented by Code.org, ETS, ISTE, and Khan Academy. Learn more about the transformative potential of AI in education with this series.

This article provides a glimpse into the accuracy and efficacy of AI Detection tools with a specific look into how this can negatively impact equality amongst students. However, the article does note that such AI tools may have a role in helping to maintain academic integrity when used in non-disciplinary ways.

This blog post takes another look at the accuracy of AI detection tools.

An addition to the discussion of student usage of AI in writing, with notes on the limitations of AI detection software.

Out of date but a useful conversation starter, this article looks at how educators are expanding the AI narrative beyond cheating students to how AI could make learning better.

In 2017, EDUCAUSE convened a task force to explore the significance of transformative technologies in higher education. With the rise of AI, a new era of digital transformation arises, as noted in this article.

Generative AI is capable of so much more than what you see from the free version of ChatGPT. This post takes a look at the more recent models, with snapshots of what can be done with paid models.

This article provides guidance and recommendations for the ways that higher education institutions can develop policy for the use of generative AI.

Two undergrad students reveal how they use AI today and what they think could be beneficial for them in the future.

This news article details plans for a new consortium of higher ed institutions to "share" and learn from student data in the AI world.

Interesting read on how a freshman at Yale created a chatbot based on the ethics work of professor Luciano Floridi.

A new study was launched by Ithaka S+R to gain insight into the implications of generative AI on scholarly publication.

Perplexity AI has released a new tool, Perplexity Pages. This tool allows users to create a Wikipedia-like page on a topic. Note: Some features are only accessible through the paid version.

This opinion piece by an Elon University professor takes a look at how using ChatGPT in class with students encouraged discussion about the things that AI can and cannot do.