LibGuides: HIS 410: Primary Sources

WISE - Books, Articles, and more

What is WISE and how can I use it?

WISE is the Library's search engine, it searches:

Everything we have in the building
Everything we pay to have access to online
A lot of stuff we don't have, but can get for you through a service called Inter-Library Loan (ILL)

You can use WISE to locate Primary Sources by clicking "Downloadable Archival Material" under the Format menu.

WISE is a user-friendly, all-in-one search tool, but is important to know when to use WISE, and when you may be better served by using the Library's other electronic resources.

When to use WISE

Print books and eBooks: WISE is the only place you can search our print book collection. WISE is also the most convenient place to search our eBook collection.
Known items: If you know the exact book, journal, article, DVD, or other item you want, WISE will quickly show you if Westminster College owns or has access to that item. If that item is not available through Westminster College, WISE provides an easy way to place an ILL request.
First-year or intro-level studies: WISE is the most user-friendly, all-in-one search option available and provides an adequate amount of relevant, appropriate sources for basic research needs.
Interdisciplinary research: WISE contains materials from all subjects taught on campus. Use WISE when you want Interdisciplinary (from many subjects) resources..

When to use Online Journals and Reference Sources

Use the Online Journals and Reference Sources page for:

Discipline-specific research: Searching specific databases (e.g., PsycINFO, SciFinder, ScienceDirect, MLA International Bibliography) is a better search strategy for more in-depth, advanced research.These databases allow for tailored search strings and provide citation tools.
Other types of electronic sources:
- Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies, NY Times, Nexis Uni
- Reference: Credo, Oxford, SAGE
- Discipline-based: Birds of the World, Mergent Online
- Streaming: Video (Kanopy, Swank) and music (NAXOS)
- Primary Sources
- and more!

Getting started with WISE Text Guide

Primary Sources

General Historical Primary Sources

Primary Sources related to Missionaries

Here a few additional sources of primary materials on the web pertaining to a variety of missionary topics:

Yale Divinity Library (Day Missions Collection): digitized historical periodicals.
Yale Divinity Library (Day Missions Collection): missionary reports.
Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI): maps, postcards, and more mission-related artifacts.

The books below are some of the titles in our collection containing primary materials on related topics:

Primary Sources related to Labor History

University of Pittsburgh Archives:

Pitt Women in Labor History Archives:

University of Washington Labor History Primary Source Guide:

Primary Sources related to Pennsylvania History

State Library of Pennsylvania Digital Collections:

PA State Library Newspaper Collections:

Historical Society of Pennsylvania Digital Library:

Chatham University PA History guide:

PA State Archives Digital Collections:

News Archives

Westminster has access to a number of historical newspaper and magazine archives!

You can also access current newspaper databases. These may not be the best choice for every topic but can be useful to obtain a current perspective on or long-term impact of historical events.