Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Westminster College Logo

Religion Capstone

WISE Search

Search WISE: Enter title, subject, or author

  

WISE or Databases?

In order to find reviews, criticisms, and other articles related to your topic, you can either search WISE or select an individual database.  You can find a list of the individual databases available to you in the Online Journals and Reference Sources page.  Here are some benefits to using either WISE or an individual database:


WISE:

  • Combines results from many (but not all) of the library's databases into one search.
  • Results show periodicals (journals, magazines, etc.) that are available in print at McGill.
  • Results show the most recent articles from journals - apart from any individual database - that the English department faculty has selected as most useful for Westminster College.  Examples include:
    • New Testament Studies, Faith and Philosophy, Culture and Religion

Individual Databases:

  • Contents are subject-specific (such as the humanities, or even literature).
  • Searches are more detailed than those of WISE.
  • Individual databases have better subject indexing, which allows youto have more control over your searches.
  • Not all articles in the library's individual databases can be found by searching WISE.

Databases

Here are some individual databases that would be most useful for religion students' Capstone projects:

ATLA Religion Database

Humanities Full Text

JSTOR

Academic Search Elite

You may also find other subject databases useful thanks to your unique, interdisciplinary topics.  Such databases include, but are not limited to:

Philosopher's Index

Education Full Text

PsycINFO

Historical Abstracts Full Text

TIP:  If you find an article that looks good but we don't have full-text access in that database, you can quickly check to see if we have it in any other databases.  There will be a link next to the item (and on the result page) that you can click on which will automatically search WISE for that article; if it finds the article, the link will show up for you.  The precise wording of this link varies by database, but try to look for "Full Text" or "Find Full Text".  Or ask a librarian!