LibGuides: EDU 351: Content Area Unit of Study

Content Area Unit of Study

Each student will select a Unit of Study with their practicum teacher.

Students will develop one Unit of Study lesson to add to the teacher's unit, which includes:

Useful Databases for Content Area Unit

Academic Seach Complete
EBSCOHost Education

Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, special education, and educational tests.
EBSCOHost ERIC

ERIC provides access to education research and information. Includes articles, reports, and manuals.
EBSCOHost Readers Guide Full-Text Mega

Readers Guide provides full text to a wide array of popular periodicals and journals with coverage dating back to 1983. Includes periodicals that feature curriculum support materials.

Remember, there are 4 collections housed within the Children's Room in McGill Library.

Picture Book Collection (Ages 0-5/6): Includes books appropriate for children aged approximately 0 - 5/6. Both fiction and non-fiction works are included. Books have a white dot on the spine.
EZ Read Collection (Early readers): Includes books appropriate for early or beginning readers. Books in this collection are clearly marked as such on the binding of the book. Books have a gold star on the spine.
“Juvenile” Collection (Ages 5/6-11): Includes fiction books appropriate for children aged approximately 5/6 through 11. Includes non-fiction works appropriate for children aged approximately 5/6 and older. Books have a blue square on the spine.
Young Adult Literature Collection (Ages 12-18): Includes fiction appropriate for children and young adults aged approximately 12-18 years. Books have a "young adult" sticker on the spine.

Remember, if you need help finding something, PLEASE ask! Our Children's Room gets a lot of use (which we love), but little hands often mis-shelve.

Lexile Level Help: