Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the SSC251 Libguide!
Many of the resources you will need to complete your Library Assignment are located on this page! You can also access most of these resources on McGill Library's homepage.
Here's a worksheet that will help you as we work through the content on Friday.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (or ILL) is a free service available to students. It allows you to borrow materials that Westminster College does not own, including articles, books, DVDs, and more.
Off Campus Access
All of the resources on this page are available from off campus. To access from off campus:
1. Click on the link you would like to access, and you will be directed to a Westminster log-in page.
2. Type in your Westminster username and password (which will be the same as your Westminster e-mail log-in information).
3. You will directed to the resource you would like to access.
If you have questions or problems, please don't hesitate to let us know!
Finding and/or refining your topic is one of the trickiest parts of research. The following resources are great places to get started. Using the following, you should be able to:
- Get an idea of what kind of information, generally, is out there on your topic
- Get some ideas about search terms and keywords for future searches
- Find a few good bibliographies that will get you started on the research trail
Don't forget, research is an iterative process. You'll likely have to continue refining your topic, your search terms, and your resources throughout your Capstone project.
SAGE Knowledge (ebook database)
A great resource for subject-specific reference material (like encyclopedias) in the Sociology and Criminal Justice fields.
Searching the Professional Literature
After you've honed in on a really excellent research question, the next step is to consult the literature already out there in the field. The following resources will help you to find the best information available on your topic.
Social Science Citation Index
Focuses on essential data from 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.
Includes international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Social Sciences Full Text
Covers the latest concepts, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Using Google Scholar
Use results from Google Scholar in your research with caution - Evaluate your resources! Don't pay for things!
"Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists....Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research."
Annual Review of Sociology (ejournal)
Covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.
Annual Review of Law and Social Science (ejournal)
Discusses connections between law, culture, social structure, and society by focusing on social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules, institutions, processes, and behaviors.
Annual Review of Political Science
Covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.