Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Westminster College Logo

ECE 362: Teaching and Learning Lab ECE Block

Pillars

You will focus your research on one of the areas or "pillars" below:

  • Interactive Read Aloud
  • Independent Reading
  • Guided Reading/ Reading Workshops and Mini-lessons
  • Family-school Literacy Partnerships
  • Assessment and Mini-lessons

Scholarly Journals

Browse or search one or both of these high-quality journals to find a relevant article:

Cover image of The Reading Teacher journal

Click the cover image above to search the journal.

Cover image for Language Arts Journal

Search for articles in Education Source first, then open Language Arts to access the PDF

WISE Search box

Children's Books

Photo of the McGill Library's Williamson Room: Children & Young Adult Collection

Image Caption: McGill Library's Williamson Room: Children & Young Adult Collection

Finding children's books in WISE is a little different.  You will need to add a little "code" to make sure that you are searching only the children's section of our library:

Add "b8:juvenile", "b8:picture", or "b8:young adult" to the end of your search term in the WISE search box

Search screen in WISE using the b8:juvenile search

There are 4 collections housed within the Children's Room in McGill Library.

  • Picture Book Collection (Ages 0-5/6): Includes books appropriate for children aged approximately 0 - 5/6.  Both fiction and non-fiction works are included.  Books have a white dot on the spine.
  • EZ Read Collection (Early readers): Includes books appropriate for early or beginning readers.  Books in this collection are clearly marked as such on the binding of the book. Books have a gold star on the spine.
  • “Juvenile” Collection (Ages 5/6-11): Includes fiction books appropriate for children aged approximately 5/6 through 11.  Includes non-fiction works appropriate for children aged approximately 5/6 and older.  Books have a blue square on the spine.
  • Young Adult Literature Collection (Ages 12-18): Includes fiction appropriate for children and young adults aged approximately 12-18 years. Books have a "young adult" sticker on the spine.

Remember, if you need help finding something, PLEASE ask!  Our Children's Room gets a lot of use (which we love), but little hands often mis-shelve. 

Lexile Level Help:

Scholastic Book Wizard

AR Bookfinder

Lexile.com