Follow these steps to get started with Mendeley citation management:
1. Go to Mendeley.com and Create a Free Account. (please make sure to use your @westminster.edu email address for your account)
2. When you login with your new account, you will be able to view and edit your Library of citations from this page, or download an app to your computer called Reference Manager to use your Library.
** Please note: As long as you have an internet connection, changes made to your Library will sync between the Library in your browser and the Library in Reference Manager.
Article
Footnote/Endnote: 1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Article,” Name of Journal in Italics Volume, no. number (year): Page, date accessed, Stable Link or Permalink.
Bibliography: Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Article.” Name of Journal in Italics. Volume, no. number (year): Page Rage. Date accessed. Stable Link or Permalink.
Book
Footnote/Endnote: 2. Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
Bibliography: Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Website
Footnote/Endnote: 3. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italics, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.
Bibliography: Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Web Page.” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italics. Publication date and/or access date if available. URL.
Need Help but don't want to talk to anyone? These resources are great!
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin- Madison Chicago/Turabian
An annotated bibliography is a way to plan for your paper, share your research with others, and prove that you actually read the references.
It might sound scary
If you've never done it before, but an annotated bibliography is really easy. You've probably put together bibliographies in the past, and an annotated bibliography isn't that much different and it can be really helpful with the paper-writing process. An entry in an annotated bibliography looks like this:
1. Citation (remember, proper formatting is important!)
2. 2 brief paragraphs.
And that's it! You can easily use Endnote, Mendeley, or another citation tool to create a bibliography and then just add your own annotation below each entry.
